Toews Receives 2014 Philanthropist of the Year

Toews Receives 2014 Philanthropist of the Year

Bill Toews, McPherson, was named the 2014 Philanthropist of the Year and recognized for his 20 year volunteer service with the local Special Olympics program.

Pat Bruce, McPherson, nominated by the McPherson Hospital Volunteers received the second place award. Ralph Vogel, Inman, nominated by the Inman Museum board and Steve Burghart, McPherson, nominated by St. Joseph Catholic School tied for the third place award. Awards are $1000 for the Philanthropist of the Year, $750 for the second place nominee and $500 for the third place nominee.

Started in 2008, the Philanthropist of the Year celebration is annual event sponsored by the McPherson County Community Foundation. As each nonprofit works to promote their mission, dedicated volunteers promote philanthropy by working to ensure their success. Directors throughout the county can attest to the time, talents, and treasures volunteers bring to their organizations. The Foundation sought a way to publicly recognize local philanthropists and provide the organization they support with an unrestricted grant.

To nominate a volunteer, representatives from a McPherson County charity submit a one-page narrative describing the how the nominee has had an impact on their organization. A Foundation reviews the nominations and determines the top three nominees for the year. Awards are given at the annual celebration held the third week of November each year.

“This event is my favorite part of the Foundation’s year,” states Becky Goss, MCCF President/CEO. “It reminds all of us that giving of your time, talent and treasures is appreciated and matters to so many.”