2019 Philanthropist of the Year nominations being accepted

2019 Philanthropist of the Year nominations being accepted

Philanthropist of the Year nominations accepted through October 18

To honor those who serve to make our communities better, the McPherson County Community Foundation Board of Directors is pleased to announce nominations for the 2019 Philanthropist of the Year award are being accepted September 16 – October 18, 2019.

The Philanthropist of the Year award was originally started at the Volunteer of the Year in 2008. Since that time, the Foundation has named over 30 individuals as a recipient. The purpose of the award is two-fold. One is to recognize the tremendous amount of time and financial support local individuals have given to the community through their service. The second is to provide the organizations supported by the philanthropist a grant for their programs or projects. Some of the organizations receiving a grant are McPherson Hospital, McPherson Family YMCA, Circles of McPherson County, Outreach McPherson and Angels’ Attic of Moundridge. Recipients and organizations:

Gary & Rosemary Fisher, Moundridge Arts Council and Moundridge Historical Association
Harold Schlender, McPherson Opera House Company
Vaughn Ingram, Mt. Hope Sanctuary

David J. Nutt, Lindsborg/DN Fund

Verla Thomason, Community Thanksgiving/Christmas Dinners
Warren Vincent, Honors Flight
June Anderson, McPherson Hospital
Special recognition – School Super Heroes, school supplies

Scott Achenbach, Bethany Home
Eric Edwards, STEP MC (formerly Circles of McPherson County)
Betty Jo Houchen, McPherson Arts Alliance

Bill Toews, Special Olympics
Pat Bruce, McPherson Hospital
Ralph Vogel, Inman Museum
Steve Burghart, St. Joseph Catholic School

Bill Parker, Habitat for Humanity
Neisha Dahlstrom, STEP MC (formerly Circles of McPherson County)
Delonna Barnett & Ruby Janzen, Angels’ Attic

LaVon Ediger, ReUse It Center
Sondra Frank, McPherson Resource Council
David Nye, McPherson Opera House

Jim & Barbara Greischar, Community Thanksgiving/Christmas Dinners
Verla Thomason, McPherson Scottish Society
Bill Roth, The Associated Churches of Lindsborg

Jeff and Sue Odermann, McPherson Outreach

Patsy Magelssen, Trash to Treasures

Jim Loving McPherson Family YMCA
Pink Pajama Party Volunteers (now known as WACCC)

Glen Snell, McPherson County Community Foundation

Boncos Tournament Volunteers, Shoes & Coats for Kids Fund

Keith Janzen, McPherson Family YMCA

A committee of local residents review all nominations and select the three finalists to be recognized at a special reception. The event is Thursday, November 7 at 7 pm at the McPherson Opera House. Each finalist is given the opportunity to name a McPherson County organization or group as recipient of the grant award. Grants are $1000 for the first place nominee; $750 for the second place nominee; and $500 for the third place nominee. Funds are made possible by the Foundation’s Community Fund. This fund is designed to match the most pressing and often changing needs of area communities.

Residents serving organizations in McPherson County are eligible to receive the award. To nominate an individual, please submit a one-page narrative describing the person and the philanthropic work they do for an organization or the community. Narratives may be emailed to celeste@mcphersonfoundation.org, faxed to 620.245.0238 or delivered to the Foundation office at 1233 N. Main, McPherson or mailed to Attn: POY, PO Box 822, McPherson.. For questions, please call the Foundation office at 620.245.9070 or toll free at 1.866.245.9070.